Social Networking No-No’s: Responses (blog)

I’ve drawn a line…

On one side, people who agree that mass emailing people on Myspace is getting pretty pointless (and annoying). On the other side, people who get all offended that we think it’s annoying. 

But, it’s not about who is right and who is wrong. It’s about what’s effective. And, I get it. I mean, if this kind of mass emailing is working for you and it’s translating into tons of people at your shows and sales galore, then, well…I stand corrected. I know that Myspace has been a very effective tool for many musicians. It’s helped me too. And, it’s still important to some radio promoters who say they prefer to listen to bands via Myspace because they always know exactly where to find the music. I just wonder how often they read your emails when they are addressed “Dear, fan”. 

To be fair, it’s not Myspace’s fault that I have to wade through pages of mass emails from bands to get to one person who is actually trying to reach me personally. It’s just that there is no way for me to make a connection this way. So, I’ll put my energy elsewhere and into places where I can better connect with people. 

But, maybe your goal or experience is different. Maybe you’d like to get as high a number of “followers” as you possibly can. Perhaps you’ve heard of all the people who got picked up by record labels and handed all their dreams simply because they had huge numbers. Name them. And, are you sure? I’m willing to bet that most of them did more work for longer than you think they did before they hit it big. Sure, there might be a handful who sprang to fame “overnight” but, of all the millions of musicians out there, do you really want to go with a strategy that equates to getting struck by a bolt of lightning. Believe me, plenty of people want to sell you on the idea that big numbers are your goal. (They are usually the ones selling you a program on how to boost your numbers). I guess I just want to sell you on the idea that good music is your goal. And, I don’t want anyone to lead you astray. 

Think about all the hugely successful musicians who made it because they were simply awesome and don’t stress. Be awesome. The numbers may come slowly at first but, I believe, if you are consistently putting out great music and genuinely connecting with fans, the numbers will follow. Keep the momentum going and they’ll eventually snowball. Have a strong online presence but don’t put your cart before your horse. 

So, anyway, I sent the blog out in a mass email to Myspace. Subject line: Can we all agree this is stupid?

Hypocritical? Absolutely. But, I couldn’t resist. Since I don’t regularly send out mass emails on Myspace about my music, I thought I’d give it a try with my blog and see how many people agreed with me or even bothered to read it. I mean, maybe I was totally off base and missing a gold mine of dedicated followers! I needed to find out. The results were completely mixed. I was actually thinking that everyone that is still active on Myspace would disagree. That was not the case. It was a mixed bag. Several musicians agreed. A couple called me out on the irony of using a mass email to point out the ridiculousness of a mass email. A few were really upset with me and, to my delight, some did just what they always do. Here you go:

Response2Response7Response3Response1ResponseResponse4Response5Response8

 

And, this says so very, very much:

Response10

 

 

3 thoughts on “Social Networking No-No’s: Responses (blog)

  1. I was recently taken totally by surprise by MySpace. Shorty after my album release I logged into MySpace. It had been awhile since I had checked on things over there and thought I should take a peak. Much to my surprise I had a legitimate email waiting for me. Someone in the UK had gotten hold of my album and had written a killer review about it. The album review was featured in the UK music magazine Maverick’s Oct. issue. Connecting with people who may never otherwise come across your music is the power of social networking. Thanks for your blog, maybe with your help we can all be better about doing what works and not annoy each other so much 😉

  2. Awesome news, Tara! And, well deserved. 🙂 I’m not at all hopeful that the email onslaught will stop but, it was nice to get it off my chest. Ha!

  3. I just logged in after a long time away and waded through a couple of pages of crap, only to be drawn to your subject line, and then this blog. Thank goodness I looked. 😉 But your point is so true. I am trying really hard not to delete the whole account right now. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

