Facebook, what have you done? (nerd blog/FB groups)

A word to bands: avoid adding your Facebook friends to groups without their permission or risk annoying them permanently. 

I simply don’t understand it. They give people the option of creating groups and automatically adding their friends to these groups AND the default setting for is for friends to receive email on all postings to the group. NO!!!!

Now, you can go to “notifications” under your account settings and uncheck the box next to “adds you to a group”. BUT, then you won’t know when people add you to a group and that could be annoying down the road when you start receiving all the posts to the group or chat messages from the entire group. This has happened to me and it took me several minutes to figure out how to unsubscribe from the chat. 

Me: UNSUBSCRIBE!!!

Chat: DING! hey what’s up DING! nothing much, how you doin’ DING! What’s going on this weekend DING! Love the new pics on the group page. ❤ ❤ ❤ DING! DING!

Me: UNSUBSCRIBE!!!!

 

Here is how to UNSUBSCRIBE FROM GROUP CHATS: 

1) Go to the group page

2) Hit “edit settings” at the top of the page

3) Pick and choose what you want from here

Group

You can also unsubscribe from the group by hitting the “leave group” link on the right hand column. Oh, and you see that “add friends to group” link there too? Leave it alone unless you know, without a shadow of a doubt, that your friends don’t mind being a part of whatever group you are creating. I can say that there are only five groups I’ve been okay with people adding me to. Two were created by very close personal friends. Two are for organizations I fully support and the last was created by someone who asked my permission before adding me. 

If you have a different opinion of groups, please share it with me. I am clearly speaking from my own perspective here. What do you think of groups and/or people adding you to them? 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Facebook, what have you done? (nerd blog/FB groups)

  1. I agree with you 100% Laura. I don’t understand why FB set up Groups this way. I love the new Groups. It has so many cool features. But I’ve been getting added to groups left and right and it’s not right that I’m not allowed to accept it, that I’m automatically in. Bad move on FB’s part.

  2. Thanks, Nicolette! Glad to know I’m not the only musician that is against this. Also, we should talk soon. There’s some upcoming events I’d like to chat with you about. Madalyn, what gets me are people who I’ve only just met adding me to their groups. Fresh! It’s like going straight to third base on the first date. Does that make me sound old? 🙂

Leave a Reply

