Pay to play? Watch out for this one (blog)

So, that’s what they mean by “token opportunity” …

Okay, so, does Sonicbids even bother to screen opportunities anymore? I just got an “opportunity” to pay to play in my inbox. One word: AFTON. If you are a musician who has spent any time promoting yourself via social networks, the name might be familiar. .

Out of morbid curiosity and to confirm my suspicions, I’ve actually talked to one of their reps on the phone. They want to “book you”, have you sell tickets at $10 a pop, (you have to prebuy the tickets to guarantee at least 10 if I remember correctly) but, they can’t tell you who else you will be playing with or in what order you’ll be playing. Um, so, tell your fans to pay $10 bucks to see you who knows when with who knows who. And, you get the grand prize of being able to get a few bucks per ticket sale. Yeah…sure. MEH! 

There’s plenty wrong with this deal and unsuspecting indies can certainly get hosed. Another has detailed the problem and I’ll direct you to them if you want to read more. I’ll just say, stay away from pay to play opportunities. You’re better than that. And, if you aren’t, you should be trying harder.

http://neverpaytoplay.com/Afton/&NP2Pafton.htm

Here is another GREAT blog if you want to avoid scams in addition to some great ideas on how to survive the music world. Rose Cora Perry doesn’t hold back. She’s a great one to follow: 

http://soyouwannabearockstar.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Pay to play? Watch out for this one (blog)

  1. Great blog entry! I’ll recommend your info broadly. I agree, SonicBids doesn’t appear to screen their opportunities. Its up to us to report our experiences in the feedback opportunity they provide – which is a very nice feature. In fact, some of the answers given in defense of certain critical commentaries can often reveal a lot about the mindset of the poster of the opportunity.

  2. Ys, they can be very telling. Though, I have to say that I’ve recently cancelled my sonicbids membership. I just couldn’t justify paying for their services anymore. :-/

Leave a Reply

